UncategorisedWalkathon planned for Olympic Day

September 11, 2019151

Bahrain’s four governorates have stepped up their preparations to host the much-awaited walkathon races, part of the 2016 Olympic Day.
Each governorate will embrace its own walkathon race on separate days as Bahrain will join the entire world in celebrating this special occasion by organising a set of sporting and entertaining activities in an attempt to promote the principles of the Olympic values and ideals.
This year’s edition of the Olympic Day is scheduled for May 27 and is organised by the Bahrain Olympic Committee (BOC).
As a build up to the event, representatives of the four governorates had discussions on the upcoming race with the organising committee, headed by Hasan Abdullatif. The purpose of the meeting was to put the final touches on the races as well as other activities of the Olympic Day in an attempt to ensure a memorable event this year.
Unlike in the past editions of the Olympic Day when all the activities were stage on a single day, this year will bring a packed programme of sports activities to be conducted over 10 days.
These activities are commencing on the second half of this month with the walkathon races, in addition to other events, and prior to the concluding day on May 27 when the Bahrain International Circuit hosts the final set of programmes.
Each of the walkathon races will kick off at 4.45pm and participants are urged to report to the race venue by 4.15pm. Registrations for the race can be done through the Bahrain Roadrunners link: www.bahrainroadrunners.com.
The organising committee includes Lounes Madene (race chairman), Hamad Al Baker (federations chairman), Hasan Ali (media), Mamoon Al Khatib (Secretary and Follow-up), Fadi Humaidan (Side Activities), Mohammed Al Modaweb (Public Relations), Sima Al Kharraz (Marketing) and Rashid Abdulla (Services).
Also present at the meeting on behalf of the four governorates were Maryam Jalal and Ahmed Al Nasser (Southern), Abdulrahman Al Abbasi (Capital), Ala’a Al Muallem (Muharraq) and Mohammed Al Asfoor (Northern).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Bahrain Olympic Committee

Copyrights |
Legal Disclaimer |